BREAKING: Russia to formally take over 4 Ukrainian regions into its territory on Friday, says Kremlin

The Kremlin on Thursday (IST) announced that four Russian-controlled regions of Ukraine will be folded into Russia on Friday (EST) following referendums, reported AP. The announcement comes after the Kremlin-backed leaders of four Russian-occupied regions of Ukraine were spotted in Moscow on Thursday after calling on President Vladimir Putin to formally annex the territories into the country.